Ends on July 30, 2019

This category is ONLY for the award nominations. If you submit your own story here, we will delete it unread. Please submit your own story through the form titled Fiction. 

Editors, please feel free to nominate one story under 500 words published by your magazine in print or online in 2018.   

Thanks to the generous donor, @MythicPicnic, the VERA award doubles the prize money for 2019, just in time for the 5th anniversary of the award and for the 19th anniversary of Vestal Review. This year, the winning selection receives a prize of $150 and publication in Vestal Review, the second prize gets $75 and publication, and the third place gets $25 and publication. All three will receive a print copy of the issue as well. There is no nomination fee. Only a publication editor is eligible to submit a nomination. One story per magazine, please. Please attach the nominated story AND provide the link to the original publication.

Please state your credentials, the name of the author and the date of the publication when nominating.  

The nomination process will close on July 30, 2019.

The final judge this year is  Katharine Weber. 

Katharine Weber is the author of six novels (most recent, Still Life With Monkey, 2018) and a memoir. She has served as the Richard L. Thomas Visiting Professor of  Creative Writing at Kenyon College for the past seven years. Before that, she was an adjunct associate professor of creative writing at Columbia University's School of the Arts (2006-2012), Kratz Writer in Residence at Goucher College (2006), a lecturer in fiction writing at Yale (1996-2003) and a visiting lecturer in fiction writing at Connecticut College.  An Editor at Large for Kenyon Review, she has served on the editorial board of the psychoanalytic journal American Imago and the board of the National Book Critics Circle, where she chaired three award committees. She has been a judge for a variety of literary awards, including the JG Farrell Award, the Kenyon Review Short Fiction Contest, the Connecticut Book Award, the GLCA Nonfiction Award, the PEN/Albrand Award, and the Barnes & Noble Discover Award, and numerous undergraduate writing awards at various institutions. She is an associate fellow of Hopper College at Yale University.